Heavy Repetition (Vol. 3)/2014: The Ominous Quarterly Review

The idea to this third instalment of Heavy Rep is pretty basic I’ll be honest but as we come to the end of the first quarter of 2014 it seems fairly relevant. Indeed, this post pretty much focusses on the year so far, 2014.

Its been a bit of a weird one so far for me to be honest. I’ve already found myself experiencing some rather sky-scraping highs and a few sunken lows that have gone on to leave me currently floating somewhere in-between.

It started on a high, I joined a well established band I genuinely thought were class and seemed to have hopped onto a mighty metaphorical train going somewhere great fast. Sadly though, t’was not meant to be and the band decided to call it a day. Currently me and a couple members of the band are working on a new project so all is definitely not lost, it was just a hard halt to the refreshing optimism I had for the former project. However Im sure the new stuff with this new project and another band I hope to be helping out on guitar will occupy my more creative side, as well as my personal aim to be writing more of my own material.

Workwise, things could be far worse but also feel a little stale. I’ve recently upped my hours which has left me feeling far more comfortable financially and my coworkers are some really nice people I’m glad to be in a team with. Personally though, I feel a little drained. Its a pretty hands on job in some respects, not too physically demanding, but enough to have you aching for rest before midnight. You get some astonishingly odd customers too, some I feel I could do without seeing regularly.

In a nutshell, the mishmash of positives and negatives have me feeling a little lost. Im not sure where my life is going really and seeing others living comfortable lives gets a bit frustrating. Then again, I desperately don’t want to feel like I have wasted these important years because I should be living it up and taking silly chances while I can! More than anything though, I don’t want to be a failure to myself or my loved ones and family. Sometimes I worry I won’t ever do enough to make either proud.

If theres two things that have been a constant rock for me though its been the people in my life (close friends, workmates, bandmates, family and most of all, my endlessly supportive girlfriend) and music. Indeed this year so far has already produced some quality listening material that has soundtracked the constant array of bus journeys I seem to find myself on.

So, after all that yammering on, how about some of 2014’s best tunes and albums…

Morgan Delt – Yes, California’s own Kevin Parker released an album. No, seriously, the comparison is an obvious one to make but Delt deserves a great deal of credit for his own merits. His brand of retro-futuristic psychedelic hermit pop on his self titled debut album is rather glorious to be honest and in some ways, a lot more exploratory than the work of his Australian doppelgänger.  Second track Barbarian Kings is a particularly enjoyable song, eerily menacing in verses that explode into a richly textured chorus with some floyd-esque vocal harmonies. Not everyones cup of tea I’m sure but certainly a golden chalice to myself.

Warpaint – Yes, the California based quartet of fantastically talented female musicians finally delivered the much awaited follow up to their debut album The Fool in the form of the self titled sophomore LP Warpaint that saw the band adopt a far more ambitious sound to chase. Indeed the inclusion of synthesisers and keys played a large part in further probing the boundaries of the groups penchant for art rock. Stand out track is definitely the more active Love Is To Die which mesmerises listeners with a quality groove continuous from the mellow verses to the key changing haunting chorus that provides Warpaint’s signature brooding atmosphere.

Wild BeastsPresent Tense, the fourth full length effort from Wild Beasts has been quite widely considered the band’s best release yet and its understandable to see why. The northern quartet’s trademark of delicate melodies provided by the smooth falsetto vocals from singers Hayden Thorpe and Tom Fleming is of course ever present, yet the band seem to be exploring their sound with far more ambition and gusto than ever before as the electronic side of the group was ventured into further with vivid synths dominating tracks like A Simple Beautiful Truth and lead single Wanderlust. Its the gorgeous Mecca that always leaves me thrilled with a fantastic descending melody that sticks in your head, seemingly forever.

The Horrors – Not even two weeks since the revealing of So Now You Knowthe second single of forthcoming fourth album Luminous, the album has indeed leaked, finding itself in the hands of many an indie lovers hands/hard drive. I myself have resisted and will be waiting for my pre-ordered copy for the first listen, purely because I want it to be an experience of listening and flicking through the booklet, always my favourite thing to do with a much anticipated album. Its easy to be tempted with songs like this though, the combination of Faris Badwan’s snarling baritone and synth master Tom Furse’s experimentalism being at the forefront. Should be a treat if its anything to go by.

God Damn – Okay, okay, technically I did include this song in the last edition of Heavy Rep, but c’mon, its fucking class. Recently the band released the accompanying promotional video that carries on the theme of council estate superheroes that the fantastic Heavy Money video first explored. Shoe Prints In The Dust has the Midlands most insanely huge sounding duo playing in a garage as a demonic toddler slays anyone who gets on her wick by turning them into stuffed teddies, pretty innocent until she rips out their bloody innards! Having recently finished work on their debut album on One Little Indian Records, its definitely going to be an important one this year, hopefully seeing their regional fame spread nationally, its more than deserved.

The War On Drugs – This week saw the release of Adam Granduciel’s band The War On Drugs’ third album Lost In The Dream and its shaping up to be one of the most enjoyable albums of the year. Yes, Kurt Vile’s former band have come a long way since their debut album Wagonwheel Blues (as Vile has too of course), releasing an album of captivatingly well produced songs that hark back to an era of stadium rock that remained altogether tasteful. Indeed the Springsteen influence is easy to see but the band’s own spin on this signature sound is engaging to say the least. Lead single, Red Eyes is a moment that should have you air guitaring and head nodding in equal measure.

There you have it. Some of my personal favourites of this year so far that also promises so much more to come. Until next time folks.

Leave a comment